Convention Game: Punch the Vash

Theres a little game I like to play when I go to conventions. I learned it from my older brother, who was told of it by his friend that invented it. It’s called ‘Punch the Vash.’

 

My brother’s friend was at a con and needed to kill some time, so while waiting in the lobby he decided to punch every Vash the Stampede cosplayer he saw. Not punch them hard enough to hurt them or anything just enough to make them stop and wonder what was going. When they stop he’d just say ‘nice costume.’ Since hearing about it I’ve taken to playing this game as well. Oh and by the way drinking was involved in the invention of the game.  Just thought I’d put that out there. 

 

It’s actually a lot of fun to do; it messes with people easily.  You just walk up to a Vash give him, or her sometimes, a little tap and say either ‘nice costume’ or just walk off without saying anything.  I’m not sure which causes more confusion, just walking off or complimenting their costume.  It’s a strange conversation started and the reactions you get, from total confusion to laughing with you about it are priceless.

 

Playing this game I’ve gotten to see a lot of different Vashs cosplayers out there. I’ve seen female Vash, dark Vash, Vashs’ with Kuroneko-sama, with and without his gun, with two guns, with glasses, solo Vash, Vash with other cosplayers from Trigun, Vash with cosplayers from other series, Vash with and with out blonde hair sticking up.

Now I don’t always get a photo of the Vash, but I do try and get one obligatory Vash pic per con at least. Also do you know what the most common Vash pose is?

 

The best reaction I’ve gotten from one of the Vashs was one who ran out of the hotel lobby when I walked towards him, fist raised slightly. He came back in and he ran back out two more times before he finally made it past me and I didn’t feel like giving chase. He was saying stuff like “the bounty’s not worth it” and “I’m not the real Vash.” I caught up to him later when he was sitting in a circle with some others drawing. Gave him a small tap and walked off.

For all those who feel like playing in this little game I’ve created a form to help keep track of Vashs you’ve punched. I’ve created this to help me remember which ones I’ve done cause there are times I see a Vash and can’t remember if I’ve punched him or not yet. I sometimes hold my fist in mid air while I try and remember if I’ve punched this one yet.   So usually I give them a punch just to be sure I got them.   

 

Convention: ____________________________ Time: _________

Date: __________Location: ______________________

Description: _____________________________________________ Reaction:__________________________________________________

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

